Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is comprised of five regular members. The Commission is made up of citizens who have been appointed by the City Council, for a four-year term, to review matters related to planning and development. In addition to the five regular members, two resident alternate commissioners serve for a term of two (2) years. The Commission holds regularly scheduled meetings to consider land use matters including such things as the General Plan, Specific Plans, rezonings, use permits, and subdivisions.

Planning Commissioners serve at the pleasure of the City Council; commission membership changes in response to changes in the Council. The commission is the City Council's advisor on matters related to land use planning. On certain matters, including use permits and subdivisions, the Planning Commission can take final action. On other matters, such as General Plan Amendments and rezonings, the Planning Commission makes a recommendation to the City Council. All final actions of the Planning Commission may be appealed to the City Council. The Council may choose to follow the recommendations of the Commission or not.


Planning Commission meetings are typically held the first Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the Cloverdale Performing Arts Center located at 209 N Cloverdale Boulevard. Alternate meeting dates are set as needed for those meetings that fall on a holiday. Planning Commission meetings are publicly noticed 72 hours in advance of the meeting. Public Hearings are publicly noticed 10 days in advance of the hearing.

Agendas, Minutes, and Media

Agendas are available at least 72 hours in advance of Planning Commission meetings. Minutes are available upon approval. View the current agendas, minutes and videos at the Agenda Center.

  1. Kevin Thompson

    Kevin Thompson

    Assistant City Manager / Community Dev. Director

  2. Physical Address
    124 N Cloverdale Boulevard
    Cloverdale, CA 95425


  • Chad Asay, Chair
  • Eric Sanders, Vice Chair
  • Sandra Hoevertsz, Commissioner
  • William Wagy, Commissioner
  • Melissa Spingler, Commissioner
  • Craig Carni, Commissioner (Alternate)
  • Cory Cadle, Commissioner (Alternate)